Tremble

{Just a few loose thoughts stirring …. welling up}

I ‘ve been thinking for a while about this. There is line in an old song that rings through my head sometimes. One guy in particular did it, among many others, but its actually a hymn. Its just the one line that I hear, from time to time::

“Oh, sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.”

I know some people recognize the song as “were you there”, which is right. But its just that verse that hits me at times. Often it sounds like Tennessee Ernie Ford or who could forget Johnny Cash singing it. Slow like. Time enough to think on each word.

Sometimes…I tremble, tremble, tremble.

I think there is so much to say around just that line. It is a refrain people often remember but aren’t sure what hymn it belongs to. Or they think that’s the title. So it stands on its own pretty well anyway. Not to dismiss or discount the other verses. Just to devote special attention to this one seems justified.

Sometimes, it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.

Much of the world around us is spinning it seems faster and faster. All the problems that plague the country right now; all the personal strife people are under at the present. Sometimes it seems you don’t have a moment to think, or you can’t clear your head enough to begin to think. That’s when its neat to remember that line. Of course it fits many times. But when you think about those words, you can feel it.

 Sometimes…I tremble, tremble, tremble..

And if someone like Johnny Cash does it, all the better. But feeling the song is just the beginning. Its words are so appropriate to the times – any time really.

How many things cause us to tremble? But when you think of the glory of God, the Power, and the Spirit, it humbles you. It makes you realize the mortality we live in day-to-day, which may seem important at the time. But how important is it really, in the big picture? Anyone who does not feel a little humbled by those words, just thinking about it, may not be listening.

Sometimes, it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.

Like many great songs it was an Afro-American spiritual.(their description). Sometimes would be specific times. Certain times. When you see some awesome beauty in the creation, and you take a breath to capture it for a moment, soon after you feel that. It’s the kind of hymn you hear and it stays with you long after, just needling at you.

When you think of the majesty and power of God

Sometimes, it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.

 Tremble…

10 comments on “Tremble

  1. pepperhawk says:

    Bull,

    Whoa! What a profound article. Yes, there are many times I tremble. I tremble over all the things coming at me, like bullets ricocheting off of other places and passing before my face, my ears, my eyes. I can’t keep up. I start to tremble over all I see and hear. Those are the noisy places in my brain. And the fear.

    Then I have those peaceful “trembles” when I take Merlin out for a run on the farm. And the sky is turquoise, the air is crisp, I see the Appalachians towering before me on the hills I am standing. I tremble at the beauty God put before me. The rolling hills, the color of wheat when the sun hits it at sundown and it’s on fire. Such beauty to behold.

    I tremble with love as Merlin runs back to me when I whistle for him, his face aglow, smiling, and he leaps with joy to be with me and to run like a wolf with no boundaries, only the wind and me. Then he bows his head between my legs in submission to me letting me know I am his master and I have his loyalty forever. I lean over him and lay my head on his back when he does this and Merlin lets me do this until I am done feeling this bond between us and that he is comforting me. He seems to know this.

    I have a poem that I have kept with me all my life since Junior Grade Literature, age 17, The Hound of Heaven. That poem makes me tremble. I’ll copy part of it here. By Francis Thompson:

    I fled Him, down the nights and down the days;
    I fled Him, down the arches of the years;
    I fled Him, down the labyrinthine ways
    Of my own mind; and in the midst of tears
    I hid from Him, and under running laughter.
    Up vistaed hopes I sped;
    And shot, precipitated,
    Adown Titanic glooms of chasmed fears,
    From those strong Feet that followed, followed after.
    But with unhurrying chase,
    And unperturbèd pace,
    Deliberate speed, majestic instancy,
    They beat—and a Voice beat
    More instant than the Feet—
    ‘All things betray thee, who betrayest Me’

    For me this poem was about God and how He would chase me until He got me. For when I gave into His control, knowing that all things are His, not mine and I needed to not betray my God. And that He took His time in getting me into His hands. He knew when to grab me. And I feared Him taking me. But at the same time I wanted to give in.

    Like

    • Davetherave says:

      Damn good poem Pepp!!! Now I wish I could write poetry like that, but I think I have too many dead soldiers now on the brain battlefield to muster up that kinda talent…oh well…no reason to reverse now…too late! 🙂

      Like

      • pepperhawk says:

        Dave,

        I did not write that poem. It’s by Francis Thompson, written a long time ago and a piece of literature we had to analyze in HIgh School, Junior year. I loved my literature class. Of course a lot of the poetry we studied was written by Catholic writers. Dante’s Inferno was another one we analyzed. Doggone scary poem that is.

        Like

  2. bullright says:

    Pepp:
    So beautifully put. Thanks for the poem. Merlin knows you’re looking out for him and he has your back. I like that ‘unhurrying chase’. Excellent poem. Often my words don’t do it justice. I can come up short, but its the long game that really matters. For me, the right words can come at awkward times and other times they evade me. There’s a lot of wisdom in those lines.

    Like

  3. pepperhawk says:

    Bull,

    You’re welcome about the poem. Yeah, the unhurrying chase is a good one.

    You have the right words all the time Bull. It seems to roll off your tongue so easily into your writing. Dave and I always admire and talk about how you come up with some of the wittiest and satirical lines that make us roll laughing.

    And this post was absolutely awesome IMHO.

    Like

    • Davetherave says:

      Speaking of the Rave; here I be! 🙂

      Really good post buddy. I reckon I don’t tremble too much anymore. Too damn old to really be scared of anything anymore and sum of dat dar KY squeezin’s always calms a mans nerves!

      You are one witty and hilarious wild man bull. Pepp and I really do talk about that all the time.

      Like

      • bullright says:

        Dave: where you been? Well Excellent point. That was kind of hittin’ me leadin’ up to Memorial Day and the corroding condition of things. Wild man? Why suddenly I conjure up Steve Martin 🙂 (I digress) Why not, can’t dance. Not so tame yourself. I think I knew everything there was to know by 22, the rest of the time was spent waking up. Sometimes the wild side really comes out with libs. They don’t quite know how to handle humor either, especially when it makes any sense. Almost pitty their derrieres…nah.

        Like

        • pepperhawk says:

          Bull,

          You sure are right about libs. They have no sense of humor unless its to poke fun at conservatives (certain people) and say the most horrific things and they think that’s hilarious. Like Bill Marhar. Don’t know how to spell his name. He’s a rotten person and the things he says are always the worst things about people like Sarah Palin or someone else. The libs think that is funny. It’s deranged if you ask me.

          Like

Comments...

